Trades

Last modified

Trades tabbed worksheet

The Trades tab lists all Trades that have been saved in Your SOFTWARE.

The Trades worksheet is open by default when the Portfolio Details workpage is opened:

Any number of Transactions can be assigned to a particular Trade, the only restriction is that all transactions in a trade must be for the same security, or be derived from the same underlying security.

This lets you view the overall performance of a trade or strategy in the Trade Summary Row, and then view the details of the transactions that comprise the trade in the expandable Individual Transaction Rows.

Allocation of Transaction to Trade

The content of each Trade grouping is controlled by the trade allocation made when the transaction was originally entered into the Portfolio Manager.

The default setting is New Trade, but this can be altered at any time to allocate the transaction to an Existing Trade, or to set its status to No Trade.

 

You can allocate a transaction to a trade when you initially enter a transaction into the portfolio using the Allocate to setting in the Details>> area of the Enter Transaction dialog box.

New Trade

The default setting of the Allocate to setting is New Trade.

This setting will create a new Trade with the new transaction included in it. The new Trade will be sequentially numbered.

Existing Trade

To allocate the new transaction to an existing trade, click on the Existing Trade browse button to open the Select Trade dialog box:

The dialog will be populated with currently active trades for the same symbol as the new transaction (or the new transaction's underlying security if it is options or futures based).

Use the cursor to highlight the Trade ID that the new transaction is to be allocated to and click Select.

The transaction will be added to the selected Trade ID's group in the table.

Note - Transactions can also be allocated to specific trades at any time using the Modify Transaction commands in the Action menu.

No Trade

The trading strategies being monitored in each Trade grouping can be modified by assigning one or more of the transactions with the No Trade setting. This will remove the selected transaction from its current Trade group and from the calculations on the Trades worksheet. If the Trade group has only one transaction, the entire Trade will no longer be displayed in the table.

You can later change the transaction's status to create a New Trade or allocate it to any available Existing Trade.

Note - No Trade transactions will still be included in the Transactions and Positions tabbed worksheets.

Function Bar

With one exception, the Trades worksheet shares its function bar with the other worksheets on the Portfolio's Details workpage.

Go to the Function Bar section of the Portfolio's Details Overview topic for a detailed description of each of the common tools.

The one tool exclusive to the Trades worksheet is the trade's Status Filter, see its description below.

When another tabbed worksheet is selected, the Status Filter tool will be removed from the Function Bar.

Status Filter

The Trades tabbed worksheet has this additional tool in its function bar.

Use the status filter to expand or limit the number of Trades displayed, or to search for a particular trade.

There are three choices, the current choice is displayed in the function bar.

The choices are:

All Trades

This displays all trades that were ever associated with the portfolio, regardless of whether they are set as active or inactive, unless they were deleted by the user or have a No Trade status, see above.

Active Trades

Active Trades are those trades that are currently open and Active.

This is the default setting for viewing the Trades tabbed worksheet.

When a new trade is entered, it is set as active by default, see next regarding changing the setting to inactive.

Closed Trades

While trades are by default Active when created, the user has to set them to be inactive in order to be included in the Closed Trades display

To change a trade's status, select a Trade and from the Action drop-down menu or the table's pop-up menu, check the Trade is Active checkbox to make it active, or un-check the box to make it inactive:

Active Trade

Inactive Trade

 

Only Trades can be set to active/inactive, individual Transactions making up a trade cannot be set.

Trades set to inactive will appear when the Closed Trades filter is selected, and they will be removed from the Active Trades display.

Note - The Delete function will permanently remove the trade from the table, thereafter they will not be available for display regardless of the Status Filter selection.

Page statistics
1242 view(s) and 4 edit(s)
Social share
Share this page?

Tags

This page has no classifications.

Comments

You must to post a comment.

Attachments